The Pictures Before the Post

Hey everyone! I finished the five week challenge at site (staying in my village for five straight weeks and not going to a regional house for internet or American company) and am back online for a few days. Unfortunately, Africa happened and I got a little sick yesterday so the real details of my new life will have to wait until I focus my energies into writing the all important first post. But to tide you over I have a few pictures of Yacine Lacke and the region I am living in for the next 22 months.

*I’ve found people spell Yacine Lacke multiple ways but this seems to be the most common so I’ll stick with it from now on.

My room on the day of move in. It's had a few more additions since then

My room on the day of move in. It’s had a few more additions since then

IMG_1248

The view from my front door looking into the family compound

IMG_1250

My little house!

IMG_1264

My fancy desk and American work space for writing letters, Peace Corps reports, and drinking morning coffee

IMG_1284

A few of the boys I live with and will watch grow in the next two years. Even on the hard days they never fail to make me smile

IMG_1339

A donkey ‘saret’. Also the cheapest and most convenient way to get around in the bush if you’re not walking or biking

IMG_1351

The beautiful Senegal River and Mauritania on the other side, just two and a half miles from my village

IMG_1355

Looking south down the river. You can see on the right hand side where farmers have planted corn into the riverbank to take advantage of the extra water

DSCN2328

Exploring around Yacine Lacke with family. If you can handle the intensity of the sun, there are some really interesting villages and areas to find

DSCN2329 DSCN2331 DSCN2336 DSCN2343

3 thoughts on “The Pictures Before the Post

  1. Thanks so much for sharing about your adventures. I love seeing pictures from the volunteers and reading about your perspectives. The work you are all doing is great. What a wondrous experience. BTW, this is Tom’s mom!

Leave a Reply

